## Participant List

## **GEA Conference for Sustainable Future**

~ Education, IT and Natural Resources ~

Chairman

Jiro Kondo Professor Emeritus, the University of Tokyo

Special Speech

Steven C. Rockefeller Professor Emeritus, Middlebury College

Co-chair, Earth Charter International Steering

Committee

Chairman, Rockefeller Brothers Fund

**Special Guest** 

Princess Basma Bint Talal Princess of Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

Michael Rawding President, Microsoft Co., Ltd.

Working Group I "Education"

Overseas

Princess Basma Bint Talal Princess of Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

Douglas Bourn Director, Development Education Association, UK

Farah Daghistani Executive Director, Jordanian Hashemite Fund for

Human Development (JOHUD)

Hans van Ginkel Rector, United Nations University (UNU)

President, International Association of University (IAU)/ Guest, Global Higher Education for

Sustainability Partnership (GHESP)

Wendy Goldstein Coordinator, Education & Communication, The World

Conservation Union (IUCN)

Mary Joy Pigozzi Director, Division for the Promotion of Quality

Education, United Nations Educational Scientific and

Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Steven C. Rockefeller Professor Emeritus, Middlebury College

Co-chair, Earth Charter International Steering

Committee

Chairman, Rockefeller Brothers Fund

Thavivongse Sriburi Deputy Director, Environmental Research Institute,

Chulalongkorn University, Thailand

Japanese

Ryokichi Hirono Professor Emeritus, Seikei University

Jiro Kondo Professor Emeritus, the University of Tokyo

Kimiko Kozawa Professor, Tokyo Gakugei University

Shuichi Nakayama Professor, Graduate School for International

Development and Cooperation, Hiroshima

University

Working Group II "IT"

Overseas

Vinya S. Ariyaratne Executive Director, Sarvodaya Sharmadana Movement

Jean-Louis Armand President, Asian Institute of Technology (AIT)

Brendan Barrett Academic Programme Officer, United Nations

University (UNU)

Lori A. Forman Regional Director, Community Affairs, Asia Pacific,

Greater China, Japan, Microsoft Corporation

Steve Halls Director, United Nations Environment Programme

(UNEP)-IETC

Björn Stigson President, World Business Council for Sustainable

Development

Japanese

Hiroki Tanaka Director, NTT Energy and Environment Systems

Laboratories

Kimio Uno Professor, Graduate School of Media and Governance,

Keio University

Akira Watanabe General-Manager, Japan Space Imaging Corporation

Ryoichi Yamamoto Professor, Center for Collaborative Research, the

University of Tokyo

## Working Group III "Natural Resources"

Overseas

Techeste Ahderom Senior Advisor on Recovery, United Nations

Development Programme (UNDP)

Arthur J. Askew Former Director, Hydrology and Water Resources

Department, World Meteorological Organization

(WMO)

President-Elect, the International Association of

**Hydrological Sciences** 

Peter Crane Director, the Royal Botanic Garden, Kew

Kevin Fay Executive Director, International Climate Change

Partnership

Joachim Fischer Head, Biomass Information Center, Germany Leipzig

A.H. Zakri Director, United Nations University (UNU)/

Institute of Advanced Studies (IAS)

Japanese

Akio Morishima Chair of the Board of Directors, Institute for Global

Environmental Strategies (IGES)

Shinya Murase Professor, Sophia University

Katsumi Musiake Professor, Fukushima University

Secretary General, Asia Pacific Association of

Hydrology and Water Resources

Professor Emeritus, the University of Tokyo

Akiyoshi Sakoda Professor, Institute of Industrial Science, the University

of Tokyo

Motoyuki Suzuki Professor, the University of the Air

Special Academic Advisor, United Nations University

(UNU)

(in alphabetical order)